Pattern procrastination

Many knitters have a tendency towards startitis. For me, it seems ingrained.  I have an entire canvas shelf unit full of WIPs.  And it has now extended towards the patterns I’ve been writing.  So, here and now, I am outlining the patterns that I have half written up, or which need extra sizes making, or which need more test knitting to improve them to shame myself into finishing them.  If I look like I’m experimenting with anything else new and shiny before I write up at least one of these, I will need shouting at.

The patterns are –

DM Bootees – these were waiting around until I could find some resource to make different sizes. I don’t have access to any baby feet to measure on a day to day basis.  I have since found this and this so I have to get going on them again to make the different sizes.  I also want to do something different with the back since I’ve seen the original pair  modelled.

Convertible mittens – these are the mittens with the flip-top hands and thumbs. I made elbow length ones as part of the Ravelympics, but now I want to make a shorter, simpler version in a heavier weight wool. I have bought some lovely Malabrigo worsted for this very purpose this evening.

Hourglass cable hat – the cable motif is the same as on the original convertible mittens, but at a much larger scale, due to the thickness of the yarn.  I’ve made one. I need to finish off the refined version and hand the pattern over to the test knitter.

Simple cable rib hat – see this swatch?

It did actually turn into a complete hat shortly after I made it.  Not entirely happy with the working of the crown, so it needs some refinements. But it’s very nearly there.

Pleated wrap top – this is my current project.  And it’s going quite well.  All the notes are in the notebook.  I must make the commitment to write it up properly this time.

Leave a comment