In which I go to Loop and fall for some absurdly thick yarn.

I went to the opening day of the new Loop store at the Angel.  It has been marvellously documented by others already – for some excellent coverage see here (the crowds, the madness!) and also here (evidence that even being a late arrival did not mean I escaped photos). No photos here – I was in yarn seeking missile mode.  It took two attempts to buy anything – I’m not a great queuer so the first visit (at lunchtime) just involved the free Pimms and looking longingly at the shelves of yarn from behind taller people. On my second visit of the day, it was quieter, I bumped into Louise and I got sneakily photographed.

What I was after was something slightly chunky (for me). Those who know me well are aware that I mostly seek out very fine yarns and look nervous when confronted with anything bigger than a 4mm needle.  Now, my exception is hats. I like a bit of a slouchy hat.  And I like a little more heft to my slouchy hats.

So, the choice of worstedy/aranny weights in Loop is pretty damn impressive.  I came away with some Malabrigo Worsted in Bobby Blue (turquoise to those more prosaically inclined – I’m having a bit of a turquoise fixation right now).  And as displacement activity to distract me from stuff going on at the moment, I’m working up some hat ideas which have been floating around lately.

So, initial sample swatch done, gauge measured, pattern coming up on hat number one.

Leave a Reply

